Harry Eyre Cottage
Originally built over 300 years ago Harry Eyre Cottage retains the original character of a Derbyshire farm cottage. First converted in 1977 Harry Eyre Cottage was totally refurbished in 2010 and now provides luxurious accommodation but with the retention of many original features.
The cottage offers a newly fitted open plan kitchen and dining
area with a breakfast bar located to provide a fantastic view of Mam Tor while
you dine. The kitchen window opposite overlooks the farm courtyard (with horses
looking over the stable doors) while the sitting room opens onto a private
garden and sitting area complete with babbling brook.
The kitchen is fully equipped with an electric hob, oven,
microwave, dishwasher, washing machine and fridge freezer. The sitting room has
a cosy log burning stove, plus TV and DVD. The cottage also features Wi-Fi
There are two bathrooms, one a spacious downstairs wet room with shower, toilet and wash basin; the other an upstairs bathroom with an elegant Edwardian style roll-top bath. There are two bedrooms, one a double with an antique style brass bed and a breathtaking view of Mam Tor again; the other, a twin room with antique style metal frame beds looking out to the listed courtyard and stables. Again both have been completely re-decorated and refurbished.
The cottage has unique and stunning views west to Mam Tor and the ridge to Lose Hill. It has a small private, secluded and enclosed garden, ideal for dogs. The garden has open, unrestricted views across farm land to Mam Tor and is idea for eating ‘al fresco’ in summer or for relaxing with drinks and a barbecue (which is provided). It is an ideal retreat for walkers, climbers, cyclists and ramblers or any visitor to the peak district.
The cottage is fully equipped. It has an electric central
heating system and double glazing as well as a log burner. All logs are
provided as is all bed and bathroom linen. Car parking space is available next
to the cottage. The cottage welcomes well behaved friendly dogs at no extra
charge. Maximum two dogs - no puppies or very young dogs please.
History of Harry Eyre Cottage
We do not know when Harry Eyre Cottage was built. However, we do know from various wills that somebody called Harry Eyre lived and farmed here in the 22nd year of the reign of Charles II (1682).
The Eyre family name is still common in the Hope Valley - the lordship of the parish of Hope was given to a William Eyre who fought with the Normans at the Battle of Hastings.
The cottage and the adjacent building are certainly the oldest on the farm and pre-date the main house, which was built in 1820 and extended in 1849. Other buildings were built in 1872. Local historians tell us that the building is typical of a 17th Century Derbyshire 'longhouse'.
The walls are built of a random mixture of limestone and grit-stone. When it was converted to a holiday cottage in 1977 the builders found evidence of blocked-up fireplaces and doorways which showed that it was originally a simple two-up, two-down cottage - quite probably the original farm building.
Originally there were no windows on the western side because this faced the prevailing winds. The farmer and his family would have lived at the higher end of the building and the animals at the lower end in the adjacent building. .
Please call 01433 623625 or e-mail to make a booking
Harry Eyre Cottage
The lounge of Harry Eyre Cottage
Harry Eyre Cottage - rear patio
Double bedroom in Harry Eyre Cottage